Site Map

Archival Center

The Archival Center was dedicated and opened in 1987, to celebrate the Bi-Centennial of Sharp Street Memorial United Methodist Church.  The Archives was the vision of the late Earl M. Dougherty, trustee, who saw an abandoned building as a place to preserve the history of Sharp Street Church and memorialize the dedicated men and women whose lives have made a difference in the life of the Church and the community.

The primary purpose of the Archival Center is to preserve and showcase the spiritual, social, cultural, and ethnic contributions and experiences of Sharp Street Memorial United Methodist Church to the community of Baltimore City and beyond.  Our mission is to provide a facility where information is available to educate, inspire, entertain, and inform information seekers about our history and heritage.

The Center is also a museum.  The documents, pictures, and memorabilia reveal the historical evolution of events that shape the ongoing history of African Americans in Baltimore dating from the early 1800s.

The collection includes, among many other things:

  • Bust of Frederick Douglas
  • Cups owned by Frederick Douglas
  • Washington Conference chest, 1864
  • Historic Quilt made by the women of the Church, 1898
  • Cornerstone of Church occupied in 1802
  • Church Seal of Incorporation, 1832